No. 2 Texas baseball picks up multiple Big 12 awards

No. 2 Texas

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla.— No. 2 Texas Baseball’s Ty Madden was named the Big 12 Conference Pitcher of the Year, while head coach David Pierce picked up Coach of the Year honors and 13 total Longhorn players were recognized for their play this season.

Madden compiled a 2.55 ERA and a 6-3 record in 13 starts this season. He struck out 98 batters in 81.1 innings pitched and had the second-best opponents’ batting average in the league at .201. Madden is the Longhorns’ first Big 12 Pitcher of the Year since Taylor Jungmann in 2011 and the seventh overall.

For the second time in his five seasons at Texas, Pierce led the Longhorns to the Big 12 regular season title and was named the league’s coach of the year.

Right-handed pitcher Tristan Stevens, second baseman Mitchell Daly and designated hitter Ivan Melendez join Madden on the first team. Third baseman Cam Williams and outfielder Mike Antico both landed on the second team.

Seven other Longhorns picked up Honorable Mention recognition: Silas Ardoin, Trey Faltine, Pete Hansen, Douglas Hodo III, Aaron Nixon, Tanner Witt, Zach Zubia.

First-year Longhorns Daly, Nixon and Witt all landed on the Big 12 All-Freshman team.

The four first-team honorees are the most since 2011 and the 13 total players recognized are the most since 2005.