Dave Van Horn to go into Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame

Arkansas Razorbacks baseball coach Dave Van Horn will be inducted into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame, the organization announced Wednesday.

Van Horn will become the sixth player or coach with ties to Hogs baseball to earn a spot in the state’s hall of fame, joining Coach Norm DeBriyn and players Kevin McReynolds, Melvin McGaha, Tom Pagnozzi and Cliff Lee.

A graduate of the University of Arkansas, Van Horn returned in 2003 to take over for retiring DeBriyn and has become the second-winningest coach in Arkansas history with 643 wins entering the 2019 season. Arkansas has collected  five College World Series appearances, 15 NCAA Tournament berths, one Southeastern Conference overall title, four SEC Western Division championships, and a total of 643 wins.

With a win at San Diego State in 2018, Van Horn became only the second active head coach in the SEC with 600 or more wins at their current school.  Arkansas has also had 24 Hogs named All-Americans, 33 as All-SEC players, and 101 have been selected in the MLB Draft. Those picks are the third-most among all active SEC coaches.

Getting his start at Texarkana Community College, Van Horn has been coaching for 30 years, including stops at Nebraska, Northwestern State, and Central Missouri State. Van Horn has produced 1,014 wins at those four schools, which is 15th-most among all active coaches. He is also one of 10 active coaches with 1,000 or more wins at four-year schools.

The induction will be Jan. 25 at the Fayetteville Town Center as part of a special ceremony to make him part of the 2019 induction class. A reception begins at 5 p.m. with the banquet starting at 6 p.m. For tickets and sponsorship information, visit Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame website or call 501-313-4158.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.